While some Kentucky convictions for driving under the influence result in jail time, the state often gives offenders the chance to seek substance use treatment. A driver can receive a DUI for obvious drug or alcohol impairment or for blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher at the time of the arrest.
Review the possible penalties for DUI in Kentucky when facing this type of court date.
With no prior DUIs, an offender could receive a fine of $200 to $500 along with at least 48 hours and up to 30 days in jail. If the offender has one prior DUI in the past decade, elevated penalties include $350 to $500 as well as seven days to six months in jail. A third DUI in 10 years carries 30 days to a year in jail and fines of $500 to $1,000. In each case, the person will receive a license suspension for 90 days to 12 months.
The court can double the minimum jail sentence when the offender was speeding, refused a blood-alcohol test, had a BAC of 0.15% or higher or had a passenger younger than 12 at the time of the DUI. Increased penalties also apply to DUI cases involving injury to another person.
Each convicted person must complete substance abuse disorder screening along with treatment if indicated. Some felony DUI offenders may qualify for Kentucky’s drug court program, which offers an alternative to sentencing for those who complete the probation requirements successfully.